Archive for February 17, 2010

Will ‘Bounty’ revitalize Aniston’s film career?

Last night I caught the trailer for The Bounty Hunter, starring Jennifer Aniston and Gerard Butler, and it looks like it might actually be entertaining. It reminds me of those late 70’s/early 80’s caper comedies where former lovers/spouses accidentally (or not) reunite and chaos/hilarity ensues. Formulaic yes, but I think probably forgivable due to Aniston and Butler’s highly noticeable onscreen chemistry.

It also got me thinking about Aniston’s film career, and how disappointing it’s been recently. It has been years since she did anything critically-acclaimed (The Good Girl), and her highest-grossing film in a while would have to be Marley & Me (but let’s be honest, I think the dog thing helped). I doubt The Bounty Hunter will be a critical success, but I do think it has appeal, and the action/comedy with big stars usually does well with theatergoers. So maybe Aniston has finally pulled out of her crappy-films rut. And if not, well then I’d love to see her return to 30 Rock as crazy Claire Harper…

Anyway, here’s the trailer for The Bounty Hunter, which hits theaters March 19:

Leave a comment »