R.I.P.

Farrah Fawcett, 1947-2009

Farrah Fawcett, 1947-2009

Michael Jackson, 1958-2009

Michael Jackson, 1958-2009

…I’ve been reading other blogs/comments, and the sentiment seems to be pretty much the same about Michael Jackson’s sudden death…that although he’s a global musical icon, and helped define the 80’s MTV generation, it’s hard to shake the controversy that surrounded him/bizarre behavior he displayed: the child molestation trial, numerous plastic surgeries, questionable parenting, extravagant child-esque lifestyle (hello, Neverland Ranch) and his financial troubles.  I personally can’t help but reflect on his influence on the early development of my musical interests/intrigue with pop culture.  Thriller was the first cassette tape I owned and I played that thing until it merely became a warped useless piece of plastic. His dancing, videos, one-of-a-kind-entertainer quality inspired and raised the bar in popular music, hence his title as the King of Pop.  However, as we know, it has been years since he has inspired anything other than tabloid fodder. For now, I just hope that his children are cared for… as someone I know so astutely put it, “I imagine whoever takes care of them now will be a vast improvement.”  …or not

Anyway, I hope both Ms. Fawcett and Mr. Jackson rest in peace…and it’s just so crazy to mourn the death of two widely popular, very successful iconic celebrities on the same day.

Leave a Reply

