Happy Earth Day

Green is cool, right Kermit?

Green is cool, right Kermit?

Hey kids!  I know, it’s been awhile hasn’t it?  I was out of town for a five-day seminar on the power of yawning.  Good stuff!

Anyway, let’s talk about today’s big holiday, Earth Day!  Yes, the one day that we think about our planet.  That’s the thing.  EVERYDAY should be Earth Day, donchyathink?  So, here are some things you can do to be nice to Earth (if you aren’t already):

Don’t litter, damnit! I have no idea what the stats are, but I can tell you that every 12 seconds that I’m walking the streets (oh, that kind of sounded awkward, but I think you know what I mean) I see a piece of litter.  So assuming that my math skills are correct (which is about 50/50), that means that in an hour I come across 300 pieces of litter.  UNACCEPTABLE.  Use a trash can, despite how beautiful they are to look at, that’s what they are there for.

Turn off the lights! Trust me, turning off the lights has several advantages.  Not only does it save energy, but when your home is messy and you just don’t feel like cleaning, then voila lights off, and now you don’t see any clutter!  Being green is so much fun!

Walk more/use public transportation/buy an eco-friendly car! I know some places don’t have public transportation, but chances are those places aren’t contributing as much pollution as other places.  So, for those of you in those places just buy an eco-friendly car.  They come in cool colors and have radios too!  Those of you that are city-dwellers, ride the bus once in awhile or walk; if your city offers transportation into the downtown area, then do that instead.  Be adventurous!………

……..Ok, there are like a million more things you can do, but I don’t really have enough time to list them all.  So,  click here for a really great and informative website on the latest environmental news and how to get involved in your community.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Kathryn said,

    Sorry but i have to drive my non eco friendly truck around to places i could have walked also i like to leave it running for no reason, but on earthday i guess i can give it up! I attended that seminar and it was a real yawn


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

