The Top 7 Christmas Movies

rockettes21You know what is one of the best things about all these holidays we celebrate?? There are plenty of listicles to be had!! So, as you probably gathered from my simple and straight-to-the point title, this post is all about the Top 7 Christmas movies. Yes, I said “7” because I just happen to have 7 favorites. And here they are (not in any particular order)…

scrooged Scrooged (1988)–ok, I’m not going to lie, this one is probably my most favorite. Bill Murray is fantastic as Frank Cross, the Scrooge character in this modern telling of the tale. It also has some of the best one-liners ever in Murray’s extensive film career.

randyquaidChristmas Vacation (1989)–still not as awesome as the original Vacation, but by far the second best in the franchise. Cousin Eddy makes an appearance, so does Doris Roberts, and the greatest cinematic sledding scene ever.

lampA Christmas Story (1983)–the quintessential Christmas movie, of all time, true classic. But I avoid TBS/TNT this time of year since they air it non-stop. Yes, there is such a thing as too much of a good thing…except for when it comes to erotic lamps.

annettefunicelloBabes In Toyland (1961)–apparently there are various versions of this film, but the one I fondly remember from my Disney Channel-consuming days is the one with Annette Funicello and a few other original Mouseketeers/Disney regulars. It was bizarre, colorful and probably supposed to be viewed while on some kind of substance (other than corn dogs and root-beer), but nonetheless I was mildly obsessed with that movie. Back then watching a movie back-to-back 18 times didn’t seem to bother me.

elf7Elf (2003)–maybe I’m alone on this, but I’m convinced this movie would still be just as awesome if it only had Will Ferrell in it, doing his Buddy the Elf things, and absolutely no other plot points or actors. Am I right, or am I right? The dinner scene, with the soda and the spaghetti, outstanding.

love-actually-1Love Actually (2003)–yeah, that’s right, I can appreciate the romantical movies every now and then. This one especially, all those talented Brits! And it has a very unique quality–it takes place during Christmas time, but there is so much going on that it’s not necessarily the focal point, so guess what??– it can be watched year-round! This is difficult to achieve in holiday-filmdom, so hurray to the Brits for figuring out how to do it.

plazaHome Alone 2: Lost in New York (1992)–listen, both Home Alone 1 & 2 are pretty entertaining, but the reason why the sequel is one of my faves is because Kev gets to live like a king in the Plaza. That sounds like the best Christmas gift ever. So, I watch, and live vicariously. Hmmm…kind of sounds like the story of my life.

Leave a Reply

