Just doing my part for America…

salutingYou know how every day there seems to be an announcement on who is the latest addition to Barack Obama’s White House staff?  And those stories this week about who will be the next White House Chef? This all got me thinking: how can I offer my expertise to help President-elect Obama and America?  Well, wait no more…I think it is my duty to nominate/elect/recommend myself as the official White House Chief Advisor of Television Viewing.  I mean, it makes sense, right?  I watch lots of TV and certainly have the authority on what is awesome (It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, 30 Rock, Gossip Girl, Sons of Anarchy, Lost, Flight of the Conchords) and what sucks (most reality TV, Two and a Half Men), so I think it would be imperative to have me in charge. PLUS, I would tirelessly lobby for certain shows (Freaks and Geeks, Unpopular, Gilmore Girls) to be resurrected, while ensuring that crappy shows never get greenlighted.  And there’s more!  I would relentlessly campaign for more accountability from the networks and the studios, like don’t wait a year to show us the next season of Lost.  Or know when a show is totally past it’s prime (I’m talking to you ER). 

All right then, I think I’ve pretty much convinced myself, and I’m sure I’ve convinced America…so, now I’m off to email Barack Obama (before they yank his precious Blackberry away).

(FYI, The Blogger will be signing off for a couple of days…Happy Thanksgiving!)

Leave a Reply

